June Plans

May 31, 2007 at 10:50 am 6 comments

Tomorrow the month of June starts and it is going to be a busy one.  I’m already booked up for the first four weekends.  So I present to you, my madhouse month of June.

First Weekend (June 2nd and 3rd) – Charlotte
Sean, the dogs and I are traveling to Charlotte, North Carolina.  On Saturday, we’ll be attending a party at Brian and Jodi’s house to celebrate their daughter’s first birthday.  Sunday while Sean is golfing, I’m going to take the dogs hiking at Crowder’s Mountain State Park.

Second Weekend (June 9th and 10th) – Mount Rogers Backpacking
Bill C and I are planning on backpacking at Mount Rogers.  Last year, we were a week early for the peak blooms on Rhododendron Gap.  So this year, we are going a week later.  A lot of details still need to be hashed out, but if you are interested in joining us, let me know.

Third Weekend (June 16th and 17th) – Relay for Life
Then it is time for the Montgomery County Relay for Life.  I’ll be trying to walk 20 miles during the 16 hour event.  I’m not even half way to my fundraising goal, so if you are feeling charitable or even if you just want a deduction for taxes, please visit my online donation page

Fourth Weekend (June 23rd and 24th) – Family Reunion
This weekend is a family reunion for Sean’s mother’s side of the family.  It is in a convenient location – Roanoke, Virginia.

Phew.  And between all those weekends I have a number of deadlines to hit for work.  June is definitely going to be busy. 

Wish me luck.

Entry filed under: Hiking, Mount Rogers, North Carolina, Relay for Life, Travel. Tags: .

Noble Trashmen Lucky Ferrets

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Scott W.  |  May 31, 2007 at 1:22 pm

    In honor of your work on the Appalachian Trail I made a donation to your Relay for Life. I hiked many miles on the AT in Virginia while in the boy scouts and loved it. I live in Charlotte, NC now and have never been to Crowder’s Mountain State Park, I’ll have to check it out sometime.

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  May 31, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    Wow, Scott, thank you!

    P.S. Do you have any parks or trails you would recommend in the Charlotte area?

    Reply
  • 3. Scott W.  |  May 31, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    Saddly no. As a programmer I have become fat and lazy and have not visited any of the area parks or trails. All your adventures are inspiring and I need to improve my health, so I and going to make a effort to get out more!

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  May 31, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    Scott,
    If you don’t mind slow ascents and dogs, then you can start on Sunday. I’ll send you an email.

    Vicky

    Reply
  • 5. Sheer  |  June 4, 2007 at 3:15 am

    Luck.

    Speaking of the AP, have you read Bill Bryson’s book about the trail?

    Reply
  • […] up.  I’ll be attending a friend’s Pig Pickin’ party the last weekend this month (Yup my last weekend in June is now booked up).  That slow cooked pig makes all others pale in […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


