Early Morning Send Off

May 26, 2007 at 9:02 am 3 comments

This morning I woke up at 5:30 AM in order to drop Mike E off at a trailhead for the Appalachian Trail. Mike’s starting point was VA-652. Going southbound on the trail from VA-652, you cross a bridge and then take on a small hill. That modest hill provides some splendid views of the surrounding area. It’s an excellent return on investment. Remembering that, I walked with Mike up the first hill. I took some pictures and then we parted ways.

Mike on AT
Mike embarking on his journey. For some reason a hot air balloon is in the sky.

I went back to my car where the only thing I had to think about was dodging cow poo. Mike is going to continue southbound for 140 more miles and has more substantial things to worry about– water, food, shelter and the likes. In my defense, I was wearing sandals, so stepping in cow poo would have been remarkably unpleasant.

Mike will be posting regular updates of his journey from his cell phone to Twitter. Zooomabooma probably wouldn’t approve of this continued destruction of society, but if you have no objections to cell phones you can keep track of Mike’s progress on his Twitter site.

I’ll part with some pictures:

Stile on Appalachian Trail
Stile on the Appalachian Trail at VA-652

Cows and Field
View of Cows and Fields from the Appalachian Trail

Tower of Virginia Creeper
A tower of Virginia Creeper doing what it does what it does best.

Blazed Bridge
Blazed Bridge on the Appalachian Trail

As always, more pictures are available on Flickr.

Entry filed under: Appalachian Trail, Hiking, Mike E, Virginia Creeper. Tags: .

Walking Tree Wanna-Be Dogs: Plus 2 States and the Etymology of “Beagle”

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  May 26, 2007 at 2:24 pm

    That bridge looks dangerous.

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  May 26, 2007 at 9:44 pm

    It felt sturdy. I didn’t even think twice about it.

    Reply
  • […] of Virginia Creeper and I’ve seen a lot of it in my day.  I’ve seen it in my yard, on the Appalachian Trail and on travels.  I’ve seen it creep and take over abandoned dams. I’ve seen it turn a […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


