Trees That Could

May 10, 2007 at 12:30 am 5 comments

I’m continually amazed by perseverance of trees.  I’ve seen plenty that manage to thrive despite less than optimal conditions.  Tony and I ran across another resilient example today on the Huckleberry Trail.  This particular tree is growing on the rocky hillside near Mile Marker 5.  Check out the root.  It snakes around rocks and down, down, down until it finally reaches nutrients.


A very dedicated root system 


A closer shot showing the path the root took

In posts on Bottom Creek Gorge and John’s Creek Mountain Trail, I highlighted some trees that were not intimidated by obstacles.  They simply grew into and absorbed the obstruction.  On Sunday, the dogs and I hiked the Royale Trail at Poverty Creek and we ran across a tree that took a less invasive approach:


This tree grew in a perfect half circle.  Hikers and bikers have lined stones up to and on the tree.

Entry filed under: Huckleberry Trail, Poverty Creek, trees.

Rollerblading the Huckleberry Trail Sean’s Hidden Talent

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  May 10, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    Those are some amazing roots!

    Reply
  • 2. talesandtrees  |  May 10, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    Katie, beautiful photos :*

    Reply
  • 3. eric  |  February 26, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    i pissed on it

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  February 26, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    @eric – hahaha. Now I find myself curious– I wonder how many other people have pissed on that same tree. And I wonder what tree has been the most pissed upon tree in the world.

    And I think you should start a blog called “Trees I’ve Pissed On” where you highlight the different trees you have christened. You could do all sorts of things– include antedotes on why you choose the tree, keep an ongoing ranking of how refreshing it was to empty your bladder. And don’t forget to include the coordinates of each tree, so people with GPSes can follow your footsteps…er… urine trail.

    If it proves to be popular, I’ll ride your coat tails and start a blog called “Trees My Dog Has Pissed On”. Or maybe, “Places I Have Taken a Dump”

    Reply
  • 5. tgaw  |  February 26, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    To speculate on my own question without any research and just coming from my own personal experiences, I think the most pissed upon tree in the world would be in an urban area and maybe near a soccer stadium in Europe.

    I remember late one Sunday night in 2005 riding a train in the UK when a football game let out. The train was packed and I was amazed with how many men lined up to pee on a nearby building when we deboarded.

    So I can imagine a forested area near the arena would see some heavy usage.

    I do not think the most pissed upon tree would reside in Amsterdam, however. I visited that city circa 1995 and it sports a healthy population of public, outdoor urinals which would probably detract from the trees. More on that facet of Amsterdam:

    http://www.randomfaq.com/facts/00442/?Amsterdam's%20Outdoor%20Urinals/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

3D Printed Products


