Etymology of Vicky’s Vocabulary

August 11, 2006 at 10:44 pm 2 comments

And for those of you curious about those Word origins I mentioned below, here is a quick list of some of the words I identified with Carolyn and Stacy:

Supper (From Stacy M)
I say supper because that is what Stacy says and I thought it was endearing. Before high school I always said dinner.

Consolidate (From Carolyn L)
When I use the word consolidate, I think of Carolyn who used it once when organizing her audio tapes.

Chit Chat (From Dad)

Pass Gas (From Dad)

Frivolous (From Dad)
Dad used this word a lot to describe about other people’s complaints about him to the director during bridge tournaments.

Renege (From Dad)
Dad used this a lot in the context of bridge– basically when I told him I would play and then I tried to change our plans. I was reneging on a commitment!

The Good Lord (From Dad)

Christ [as an emphasis to a point ie, “Christ! Even the buzzards thought it stank!”] (From Dad)
Last time I went to confession, I told the priest I use this word a lot, but I wasn’t likely to stop anytime soon. It fits so well in stories, especially when I’m quoting Dad. It’s reminds me too much of Dad to stop at the moment. The priest didn’t seem too concerned– I guess there are bigger sins in the world.

Kibitz (From Bridge)

Follow Suit (From Bridge)

Trump (From Bridge)

Scapegoat (From Christina Geyer)
Even though it was in a Metallica song, I really did not understand and absorb this word until Anthropology class with Christina.

Fret (From Angie H)
Angie once told me not to fret… right before she stole my boyfriend. 🙂 Anyway, I still use that word a lot today.

Of Course [as an explicitive] (From Sean H)
If something unexpected or bad happens, Sean starts his complaint off with “Of course…” Now I do the same and I’ve heard some others picking it up too.

Menstruation (From Carolyn L)
Carolyn blew my mind once in fifth grade when we were watching a commercial and she said, “Mom is that for menstruation?” I didn’t ever use that word before.

Dude (From Tony Airaghi)
Tony used the word a lot in 1998 (In fact I have video footage of him and Brent Walsh doing so). I tend to get mocked when I use this word…. but I still do and probably will for a while.

Like a Bump on a Log [as a description of laziness or uselessness] (from Mom)
Yeah, turns out this isn’t a universal saying! I’ve gotten a few confused looks when I’ve used that phrase in a sentence. In particular, Sean had never heard the phrase before.

Anyway, this list is by no means complete. I’m sure there are plenty of other contributions to my present day vocabulary.

Entry filed under: Carolyn L, Christina G, Dad, Mom, Sean, Stacy McMahon, Tony Airaghi. Tags: .

Intangible Immortality? Assateague 2006

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  August 14, 2006 at 1:18 pm

    Kibitz took me forever to figure out. Growing up, some computer-based card games would randomly say “No Kibitzing!” and it confused the hell out of me… Because kibitzing needs more than 1 person and I was playing single-player (Apple2+) games.

    Reply
  • 2. Christmas Cards as a Corrective Action « TGAW  |  November 26, 2006 at 4:02 pm

    […] In retrospect, I bet that helped solidify my infatuation for beautiful, gorgeous Legolas.  Afterall, not only is Legolas stunning, if he had to renege on plans with me, he’d certainly have a better reason.  He’d be out saving Middle Earth…not going to the same bar he goes to every single night.  […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


