RATC-Maintained Trail – DONE!

May 28, 2006 at 9:16 pm 8 comments

Yesterday, Mike E, Jimmie and I hiked the Appalachian Trail from it’s crossing with the Blueridge Parkway at milepost 97, past Blackhorse Gap and on to VA-652.

With the completion of the 11.5 miles from Blackhorse Gap to VA-652, I have now hiked all of the Appalachian Trail miles maintained by the Roanoke Appalachian Trail Club! I believe it is Newsweek which does a little numbers blurb in their issues. Here’s my own little rendition with numbers regarding my RATC hikes:

119 Number of Appalachian Trail Miles maintained by the RATC
238.5 Actual miles hiked including repeats, round trips and connector trails
4 Number of seasons I’ve seen the trail during
13 Number of people who hiked sections with me
(Mike E, Meredith Webber, Ryan Schutt, Seth Powers, Jennie (Shields) Jones, Cory Herrala, Erin Foote, Mike Newman, Sean Herrala, Jay Sawyer, Alex Moskwa, Ann Bowman Jones and Penn Jones)
6 Number of dogs who hiked sections with me
(Jimmie, Henry, Lily, Zanz, Oliver and Maggie)
13.1 Longest section hike
(VA-779 to Scorched Earth Gap to VA-220)
3 Number of people who helped me set up cars or drop me off at trailheads
(Sean Herrala, Larry Bowman and Bill C)
$1100 Damage to my car when I hit a tree off Craig Creek Road
1 Number of cars that got stuck in a creek
(Mike E’s car the creek VA-620 crosses)
1 Number of bee stings suffered
(Mike E on the suspension bridge near VA-606)
8 Number of inches of deepest snow I hiked through
(Big Horse Gap to VA-634)
4 Number of donkeys encountered on the trail
(spotted on VA-42 to Kelly’s Knob section with Mike E)
1 Number of times a cow was mistaken for a black bear
(on VA-624 to VA-311, Mike Newman and I stumbled on a cow in the middle of the woods and snapped a number of pictures of it before we realized it was bovine)
1 Number of times a dead black bear was spotted
(Meredith and I ran into some hunters and their recent bounty near Wind Rocks)
1 Number of times a snake tried to attack Henry
(on VA-624 to Dragon’s Tooth. The snake missed.)
3 Number of blisters I sustained
(On Pine Swamp Shelter to VA-635, see Right Shoes for the Job)
2 Number of times I ran out of water
(VA-620 to Dragon’s Tooth and Scorched Earth Gap to VA-220, the latter Mike E helped me out with his water)
5 Number of days I took off work specifically to go hiking
(VA-42 to VA-621, VA-621 to Dragon’s Tooth, Big Horse Gap to VA-634, VA-601 to Kelly’s Knob, VA-220 to VA-652)
1 Number of times I left work early specifically to go hiking
(VA-621 to VA-620)
19 Number of outings with just myself, Jimmie and Henry
4 Number of hikes where Henry injured his paw pads
4 Age of youngest hiking partner
(Penn Jones)

Additional pictures from this Blackhorse Gap to VA-635 section are available on my website.

Entry filed under: Appalachian Trail, Mike E. Tags: .

New Twist on SQL Server does not exist or access denied. Generosity to and from the Herbst Family

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TGAW » Unsung Sean  |  August 22, 2006 at 8:59 pm

    […] About once or twice a year, Sean will join me on a hike.  It’s not his first choice of activity and there is the ongoing threat of snakes, but he’ll come along.  However, I think it is Sean’s logistical help on the hikes he does not go on that should be highlighted.  He has woken up early a couple of times to drop me off at a trailhead.  One day in fact, he woke up at 5 AM on a day off to help shuttle me to a trail!  And it was common for Sean to have a steak and baked potato waiting for me when I arrived home.  He knew without being told, the exact meal my body was craving after a long trek!  Even though he only physically walked 2.5 unique miles on the Appalachian Trail– Sean’s contribution to my RATC Patch was much more significant than my spreadsheet could ever reveal. […]

    Reply
  • 2. Summoning the Strength to Wuss Out « TGAW  |  August 25, 2006 at 11:21 pm

    […] Sometime during the spring of 2005, I woke up anxious to hike.  I also awoke with a head cold, but I figured I’d hike through it.  I packed up the dogs and drove about an hour to Bland County to knock out the southern most portion of the Roanoke Appalachian Trail Club (RATC) maintained trail.  It was going to be an eight mile round trip. […]

    Reply
  • 3. Clint  |  August 26, 2006 at 3:47 pm

    i think comment #1 is spam🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Clint  |  August 26, 2006 at 3:49 pm

    cow.. bear.. hHAHAHAHA

    Reply
  • 5. tgaw  |  August 26, 2006 at 4:00 pm

    I deleted the SPAM. Yeah, we felt pretty stupid when we realized the “black bear” was a cow.

    But who expects to see a cow in the middle of the woods?

    Reply
  • 6. jason kimber  |  April 25, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    me and a friend will be hiking the A.T. for the first time this may from i-77 in va. up to pearisburgh ,va. would you have any pointers for us first timmers that would be appriciated .. thank you sincerely, Jason

    Reply
  • 7. tgaw  |  April 29, 2007 at 9:57 am

    Hey Jason,
    What type of advice are you looking for? If your are looking for details on equipment and diet, may I recommend:

    http://mythruhike.wordpress.com/

    It contains great discussions of equipment evaluation and other research you may find valuable.

    I’m jealous of your trip– it sounds like it is going to be a wonderful one!

    Reply
  • 8. The Birthday Orange « TGAW  |  October 10, 2007 at 9:18 am

    […] oranges are such a highlight of our hikes– that [on our hike] last week, Mike and I both brought 2 oranges each!  That’s a total of 4 […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


