Farewell, Jimmie Dog

August 29, 2012 at 12:32 pm 9 comments

My most steadfast hiking buddy passed away this morning. His name was Jimmie (after the band Jimmie’s Chicken Shack). He spent 15 years and 4.5 months on this beautiful earth.

I have written before how adopting this small puppy from the Montgomery County Humane Society in 1997 impacted my life (See Happy 10th Birthday, Jimmie Dog). Jimmie’s adoption led to an active lifestyle. Finding adventures for my dog introduced me to my love of hiking and the mountains. His mere presence meant I was never really “alone” on any endeavor so he gave me the confidence (placebo?) to head into the woods alone and find my independence. He is a dog I will remember with gratitude.

The trails Jimmie has hiked over the years can be measured in “hundreds of miles”. Along the way, he has seen some amazing views. The slideshow below is an excerpt of some of the scenery we shared together. (You don’t have to have the attention span for all the slides, but do please note at how many slides there are. Epic!)

Last night, Ryan, Sagan and I took Jimmie across the river to Occoquan Regional Park. Jimmie was too weak to walk, so we drove to the park and we carried him to the shoreline. We sat under a sycamore tree. We watched ducks commute and ospreys tend to their young. We listened to the summer buzz of cicadas and people splashing on the west shore of the river. The sun set and together Jimmie and I took in one final view.

Jimmie's Last Outing - Jimmie and Vicky Take In One Last View (By Ryan Somma)
One Last View (Photo by Ryan Somma)

I love you, Jimmie Dog. I wish you happy trails.

More pictures of Jimmie’s Last Outing can be found on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Appalachian Trail, Hiking, Jimmie, Uncategorized. Tags: .

Ba Gua in Central Park Baby Meets CamelBak, Baby Falls in Love

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. thenakedhiker  |  August 29, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    I love this, Vicky…but I’m a little over crying today. However, these are both happy and sad tears. <3

    Reply
  • 2. Anne T. Sawyer  |  August 29, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    He had such a long, great life. You have many happy memories and he is not longer in pain.

    Reply
  • 3. Duane Sawyer  |  August 29, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    What an awesome tribute to a very beloved member of your family.

    Reply
  • 4. Carolyn  |  August 29, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    Aww, R.I.P. Jimmie.

    Reply
  • 5. becky  |  August 29, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    What a wonderful tribute, Vicky. You were both lucky to share over fifteen years together. Happy trails indeed, Jimmie.

    Reply
  • 6. Stacy  |  August 29, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    Poor Jimmie, but you’re right, he had a long life, and a better one than most, thanks to you :)

    Reply
  • 7. narami  |  August 30, 2012 at 3:20 am

    I understand this feeling too well, as it is still fresh in my own skin. I hope you feel peace in all the good times you had together. That last sunset was beautiful, I know he was thankful for such a lovely view.

    Hugs to you and kisses to Jimmie’s memory.

    Reply
  • 8. Aaron  |  August 31, 2012 at 8:05 am

    I’m very sorry to read about Jimmie. Our rescue will be 3 this December and I know the next 10 years will seem to go fast. :(

    Reply
  • 9. tgaw  |  September 9, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    Thanks for your kind thoughts and words everyone. I appreciate it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Ornament on Smithsonian 3D Site

Ornament on White House Web Site

library_of_congress_library

Ornament on Smithsonian 3D Site

Ornament on White House Web Site

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

