The Silver Lining of a Feces Encrusted Foot

September 1, 2011 at 4:11 pm 4 comments

Our 14 year old dog Jimmie has an unfortunately side effect of old age.  He has very little consciousness of his bowels.  He can surprise himself (and us) with a dump at any place and any time.  In front of guests even.  Sometimes this surprise occurs in the middle of the night while he is dead asleep.  You have to wake him up and show him.  “Dude!  You took a dump!”

With little Sagan in our lives, I’m a light sleeper at the moment.  Last night in the wee hours, I became aware of Jimmie getting up and rushing down the stairs.  That means either he is about to have an accident… or he already did.  My nose told me it was the latter.  So I grabbed some toilet paper and went on patrol.  I found two rather small pieces on the stairs which I picked up.  I returned to my room and headed to the bathroom to dispose of them. 

I was just thinking, “Wow, I can’t believe all that smell came all the way from the stairs from just this” when I became aware of the most unpleasant of sensations on my right foot.  My BARE right foot.

It was such a large deposit I had practically molded myself a brand new shoe.  I let out an involuntary sound of distinct displeasure.  Sagan stirred, but luckily didn’t wake up.

We sleep on the floor and to walk to the bathroom would have poop pass by my bed much closer than I’d be comfortable with.  Irritated, I hopped down to the bathroom on the third floor.  I tried my best to rinse off my foot in the bathtub, but the pressure of the water alone was not enough.  I had to use my hands to scrub the remainder off.  And then I discovered– THERE WAS NO SOAP.

Even more irritated, I hopped down to the half bath on the second floor.  I kicked my foot up onto the sink and used that soap and scrubbed and scrubbed and scrubbed my foot (and hands) like there was no tomorrow.

When I came out of the bathroom, Jimmie was slinking back upstairs from the dog door on the first floor.  When he saw me, he froze.  He just stood there with his head low and his tail between his legs.

I was tired and I was incredibly angry.  Incredibly angry.  I wanted to yell and scream.  I wanted him to be punished.  Instead I found myself kneeling down and giving the poor old dog some pets and trying to calm his nerves.

My forgiveness benefitted more than just Jimmie.

Well this should put your mind at ease,” I thought.

A few nights before, little Sagan had a rough night.  Instead of sleeping, he opted for fussing.  All night long.

Sagan - Day Sixteen -  Loves ZJ's Towel Sagan - August 7 - Crying Sagan - August 25 - Crying

Crying (July 28th, August 7, August 25)

Circa 4 AM, I felt emotions I didn’t want to feel. Frustration. Exasperation. Anger.

Rationally I know those emotions are normal, particularly with sleep deprivation.  But, you still feel guilty and you still worry.  “What if [my temperament] gets worse?!?  What if I turn into one of those people that shakes babies?!?!

Well after last night, those particular fears are squelched (I still get to fret about SIDS though).  If I can be THAT angry and still be so instinctively gentle with an old incontinent dog, I most certainly will do the same for my son.

Jimmie may have given me a rude awakening last night, but I’ll rest easier in return.  :)

Entry filed under: Dog Crap, Jimmie, Sagan. Tags: .

Standing Room Only on Grandma Sawyer’s Lap Rooting for the Wrong Team

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kitty  |  September 6, 2011 at 6:41 am

    You are such a great writer!! Way to pinpoint and rationalize those irrational late-night feelings had by (I would assume) every new parent. It’s such a difficult sleep-deprived time, and I remember thinking those same thoughts: “Why do I feel so angry?!”. It made me understand better why some people choose not to have children, and made my heart go out to those women who have children they did not (dare I say it) want. Especially those without support of an amazing and supportive husband and/or family and friend network. Being a mother is the most amazing thing I have EVER done, yet it is so very challenging. Way to bring to light in a humorous way the recognition that despite how hard it is in the middle of the night to suppress weird uncharacteristic anger, it is very possible. Especially if you have a dear old incontinent dog to practice on. :)

    Reply
    • 2. tgaw  |  September 7, 2011 at 11:20 am

      Ahh, thanks Kitty! It makes me feel even better to know you have experienced similiar emotions! :)

      Reply
  • 3. Parenting Confessions « TGAW  |  May 4, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    [...] Dog Almost Took a Dump on My Son’s Head I have a 15 year old dog, Jimmie, who in his old age struggles to control his bowels. My husband, my son and I all co-sleep on the floor. One day, the baby was napping and I was on the [...]

    Reply
  • 4. Negron  |  July 21, 2012 at 2:24 pm

    Encrusted feces are the tastiest kind.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

View While Nursing for October 26, 2014 - My Mom!  She formula fed her three children, but still ended up being a GREAT support to me on my breastfeeding journeys.  Thanks Mom!  Http://viewswhilenursing.tumblr.com

Some renders (not actual 3D prints...yet) of my "Dial-O-Lantern."  This is my first 3D model designed with moving parts!  Each section of the pumpkin rotates so you can pick from three types of eyes, noses, and mouths (27 possible faces).  https://sketchf

What I wish I was working on.  (An entry for the CGCookie/SketchFab/Shapeways 3D Printed Jack-O-Lantern Contest)

Socks with Sandals- What you wear when your 1 year old brother poops *ON* your sneakers.

Rarity is ready for Saturday's Wicked 10K.  This is the first year I've managed to have a "real" costume for the race!

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

