Relay for Life Donations for the Neighborhood Kids

May 13, 2011 at 1:00 am 3 comments

Tonight, May 13th, Pasquotank and Camden County will be having its Relay for Life at Northeastern High School in Elizabeth City, North Carolina.  As such, this is my annual post to see if anyone wants to make a tax-deductible donation for 2011 to the American Cancer SocietyBUT THERE’S A TWIST!  This year, if you feel enticed to give, I would like to request that you to donate to one of the neighborhood kids instead of through my personal donation page.

In the past two years, the neighborhood kids have taken quite a liking to Relay.  They’ve accompanied us each year and have been active walkers. In 2009, one eleven year old walked a little over six miles with us! 

This year, four of the neighborhood kids are official members of our “Hunter Street Hope” team.  Before Ryan and I moved to Virginia, the kids were of wonderful help with Relay ranging from working on the Christmas Parade float to making thank you gifts for donations to actually updating the www.RiverCityRelay.com website and registering users.  I would love to help them make some progress towards their fundraising goals!

Tyrek
In November, Tyrek learned plastic canvas and helped stitch some Holiday Gobblers as thank you gifts for our November donations. Thanks in part to Tyrek’s efforts, we got three surprise donations from Magic Players at the Earth 383 Comic Book Shop!

Plastic Canvas - Tyrek Works
Tyrek Working on Holiday Gobbler
Holiday Gobbler - Grey and Pink
Finished Holiday Gobbler

Tyrek’s Donation Page

Risha & Vick
Sisters Risha and Vick were both active participants in this year’s Relay for Life float for the Elizabeth City Christmas Parade. They volunteered for duty two nights and helped transform a bunch of plywood into the float that won first place in the Civic Category!

Relay for Life - Christmas Parade - Risha Paints Magnolia Leaves
Risha Paints Magnolia Leaves
Relay for Life - Christmas Parade - Vick, Debbie, Deanna Coat Front of Float
Vick, Debbie and Deanna Work on Float

Risha’s Donation Page
Vick’s Donation Page

Khalif
Khalif also helped decorate the Christmas Parade float, but his contributions extend much further than that.  Before I moved, Khalif served as the assistant to the Online Chair for our event. He attended the Team Captain Meetings (and also helped with the setup and clean up) and put his computer skills to work. He helped update the http://www.RiverCityRelay.com website and took the lead on registering users online during our Kickoff Meeting.

Relay for Life Kickoff - Khalif Prepares Team Packets
Khalif Prepares Team Packets
Relay for Life Kickoff - Khalif Registers Users
Khalif Registers Users Online

Khalif’s Donation Page

Whether you decide to give or not to give, thanks for letting me brag about my neighborhood kids!  They’ve made me proud…and I do I miss them terribly now that I’m in Virginia.

Entry filed under: Elizabeth City, Neighborhood Kids, Relay for Life. Tags: .

36th Birthday Hike – Great Falls National Park Yuri’s Night and National Sibling Day

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gasstationdave  |  May 13, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    I like this. :)

    Reply
  • 2. geekhiker  |  May 16, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Awesome. Do you ever go back to visit the old neighborhood?

    Reply
  • 3. tgaw  |  May 17, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    Actually, I just went back to visit May 7th! Oh my goodness, it was emotional (in a good way).

    One family moved, so I walked over to check out their new house. The mother has 10 children of varying ages. All the little pre-school ones were playing outside in the front yard. When I turned the corner, they all started shouting, “VICKY! VICKY! VICKY!”

    I was still a block away (and about 13 pounds heavier) and they still recognized me! : )

    And when their 17 year brother ran out to meet me half way in the street to give me a big hug (he’s NEVER hugged me), I almost lost it.

    It’s still my favorite neighborhood. I miss it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Ornament on Smithsonian 3D Site

Ornament on White House Web Site

library_of_congress_library

Ornament on Smithsonian 3D Site

Ornament on White House Web Site

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

