Swan in a Swamp

February 23, 2010 at 11:58 am 2 comments

When I think of swans, I think of them in posh ponds surrounded by manicured lawns, ornate fountains and brightly colored perennials.

Last Saturday, Ryan, the dogs and I were hiking on the White Oak Trail in Newport News Park and I discovered swans are not the snobby waterfowl I thought they were. At “Swamp View Point”, we saw this:

Newport News Park - Swan in a Swamp
Behold… a swan in a swamp

Newport News Park - Swan in a Swamp (Cropped)
Cropped, closer view

The best part about this sighting is I get to indulge my love for alliteration. Swamp Swans Swim in Swamps!

I need to try to work “Swamp Swan” in next time I play Scattergories. : )

Entry filed under: Hiking, Scattergories, swan, Virginia. Tags: .

Wedding Behind the Scenes – Centerpieces Fun with Grapefruits

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristina Rosenbaum  |  February 23, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    I wonder if that’s an escapee from Pat Robertson’s swan pond. What a great sighting!

    Reply
  • 2. geekhiker  |  February 28, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Great picture!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Bethany Beach - Sea Colony - Sagan Swings into Mark

Bethany Beach - Sea Colony - Mya and Sagan by Fountain (Portrait)

Bethany Beach - Sea Colony - Mya and Sagan by Fountain (Landscape)

Bethany Beach - Sea Colony - Sagan on Playground

Bethany Beach - Sea Colony - Mya on Swing

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets

  • This vacation is also a vacation from the breast pump...and bottles! We didn't pack a single one! #fb 4 days ago
  • Perk of all the Bay Bridge Traffic yesterday- Seeing the giant nest built over the highway on a traffic sign...with two ospeys in it!!! #fb 4 days ago
  • Test server updated, July hours are in, and my Out of Office responder is set. I think...I think I may actually be on vacation! :) #fb 5 days ago
  • I don't think I ever expected to see the word 'merkin' show up in my Facebook feed. :) jezebel.com/women-want-bus… 5 days ago
  • One of this season's Project Runway contestants dresses up as Nyan Cat costume at Cosplay conventions! mylifetime.com/shows/project-… 6 days ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

