Britt and Chris’ Wedding

September 22, 2009 at 5:00 am 3 comments

I went to a wedding two weekends ago in Fredericksburg, Virginia. It was an excellent wedding and I thought I would share some of the items that made it particularly neat.

Neat Things About the Ceremony – My Sister
My little sister got to do something I’ve never done! She was a bridesmaid! And she was a beautiful one at that! Before the ceremony began, I noticed I could see my sister standing outside through window– so I got a sneak peak at her dress! Thinking about my beautiful sister still makes me smile.

P1270875
Vicky’s Sneak Peak

Neat Things About the Ceremony – Sand Ceremony
This wedding including something called a “Sand Ceremony”. Both sets of parents poured blue sand into a jar and then at the end, the bride and groom poured sand in as well. During the reception, the resulting artwork, a piece created by the love of two families, was on display at the head table. I had not seen a sand ceremony before and it was a nice touch.

P1270905
The Bride and Groom Watch as Her Parents Pour Sand

Neat Things About the Ceremony – Renewed Vows
After the bride and groom took their vows, both of their parents renewed their vows. Another thing I hadn’t seen before!

P1270940
The Bride and Groom Watch Their Parents Renew Their Vows

Neat Things About the Reception – Samoa Cupcakes
Caramel deLites… bah! I call my favorite flavor of Girl Scout Cookies by their original name– Samoas. To compliment the wedding cake, this couple had an array of unique cupcakes, including one inspired by Samoas. Too cool!


Clint Enjoys a Cupcake (Photo by Vic L)

Neat Things About the Reception – Bubble Dance
During the couple’s last dance, the guests armed with their the departure bubbles surrounded the couple and blew. It made for a magical end to a wonderful wedding.

P1270968
Bubble Dance!

Neat Things About the Reception – Dancing!
Shortly after dinner, my mother shared an observation with Ryan Somma.

“Vicky does not sit still [at weddings]“

Her statement was indeed accurate as this was a great wedding for dancing! The DJ brought a lot of props (cow bells, wigs, hats, drums, etc) to compliment the music. I suspect that encouraged even MORE people to dance, making my dancing experience even better. w00t!


Cousins of the Bride Enjoy the Dancing Props (Photo by Jennifer Terrill)

Neat Things About the Reception – Poshbooth
Okay, I need to say something. I was wrong. When I first heard there was going to be a photobooth at the reception, I thought it sounded like a ridiculous waste of money.

I was wrong. I was very, very wrong. The service, provided by Poshbooth, turned out to be an excellent addition to the reception. For each photo session, two printouts were made. One for the people in the picture and one for the bride and groom’s guest book. Not only was it documenting the event, but it turned out to be a source of great entertainment. Couples would get together and plot out their four shots. Watching my poor brother fail to convince his girlfriend to punch him in the face was particularly amusing.

Well after the wedding, Poshbooth continued to entertain me. They recently posted the event pictures to a gallery and it was hilarious to look through and see what everyone did. Tongues made an alarming number of cameos. Ryan and I were pretty tame. Here’s what we ended up with:

Britt and Chris' Wedding - Ryan and Vicky Photobooth Shots
Ryan and Vicky in Poshbooth

Entry filed under: Wedding. Tags: .

Pawpaw Hunting at Dismal Swamp State Park The Latest in Bridal Fashion – Sumo Wrestling Suits!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  September 22, 2009 at 7:00 am

    It was a good wedding. That was the second sand ceremony I’ve seen – the first was at Brent’s wedding back in May.

    And you got to do something that I’ll never get to do: be a groomsman. That’s close enough to bridesmaid anyway.

    Reply
  • 2. Clint  |  September 22, 2009 at 10:59 am

    Yup. Good times!

    Reply
  • 3. amberdawn  |  March 14, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    The sand ceremony sounds like a great idea! I just might steal that for my wedding in lieu of a unity candle. Have you heard of the rose ceremony? Google it if not, it’s beautiful and not at all The-Bacheloresque.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS iNaturalist Observations

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

Lake Accotink Park - Ryan Videoing Merry Go Round

Lake Accotink Park - On the Merry-Go-Round

Lake Accotink Park - Waiting for Merry-Go-Round

Lake Accotink Park - Sagan Looks Down Grate

Lake Accotink Park - Sagan By Dam

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

