Kayaking on the New

September 2, 2009 at 5:00 am 7 comments

I love the act of rowing. I think it is the rhythm. It’s mediative to me. The other week, I worked on-site in Roanoke and I was ever so lucky to get to go kayaking one evening after work. I went with Tony Airaghi and we paddled along River Road in Eggleston, Virginia. There were some tiny tiny tiny rapids, but nothing to get flustered about. Just peace.

Kayaking in Eggleson - Tree Over New River
View Upstream

Kayaking in Eggleson - Tony on Lit Water
Tony in Kayak

Kayaking in Eggleson - New River at Dusk
New River at Dusk

Kayaking in Eggleson - Tony Paddles at Dusk
Tony Paddles at Dusk

Kayaking in Eggleson - Tony on River
Tony with Mountains

Kayaking in Eggleson - Vicky
Me!

More pictures of our Eggleston Kayaking Trip can be found on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Kayaking, Tony Airaghi. Tags: .

Wildflowers at Keffer Oak Neighborhood Kid Activities – August 28th – September 5th

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. scienceguy288  |  September 2, 2009 at 9:07 am

    Kayaking is always great fun: the cool water flowing past you, the soft ripple of your paddle going through the waters, and the calmness of nature all around you. Too bad you have to sometimes deal with motorized boats. They just don’t get the same experience.

    Reply
  • 2. Anne  |  September 2, 2009 at 9:57 am

    Your self-portraits are starting to look alike. I swear I have seen this picture before.

    Reply
  • 3. geekhiker  |  September 2, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    That redness you see out west? It’s not the fires, it’s me, all red with jealousy! LOL

    Reply
  • 4. Old Duffer  |  September 2, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    I wonder how those open Kayaks would work up in my country? Tried them in the ocean?

    Reply
  • 5. Chriggy  |  September 2, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    I’d be scared to take a camera on a kayak, unless it was waterproof. Past experience has shown I’m prone to tipping.

    Reply
  • 6. Stacy  |  September 3, 2009 at 7:59 am

    @chriggy – I’ve seen some good-looking waterproof camera cases on eBay in the $30 range.

    @vicky – I’m at least as jealous as Mike! I remember when I used to paddle around the creeks in Alexandria on weekends, before my boat had a hole in it and my schedule stopped having any holes in it…

    Reply
  • 7. Sheer  |  September 6, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Looks beautiful.

    I was wondering if there was any way I could talk to you sometime?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Breastfeeding Pendant in Action

Breastfeeding Pendant in Action - Cropped

Breastfeeding Pendant - Purple - Cropped

Breastfeeding Pendant - Steel - Cropped

Breastfeeding Charm - Unlayered - Cropped

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

