Vicariously New Experiences at Bethany Beach

September 1, 2009 at 5:00 am 3 comments

If I’m with someone experiencing something for the first time, it is easy for me to adopt their excitement. Everything feels fresh and new to me as well. A good example is hiking with children. The views may be predictable to me– but watching my young companion(s) discover overlooks and waterfalls or even tiny rollypollies is just as invigorating as was my inaugural visit.

For more recent examples, we can look to August’s trip to Bethany Beach, Delaware. I’m not much a drinker, but I did find myself much more inclined to visit a bar this year, now that my cousin Sam is twenty-one.

“How come you’ll go drinking with Sam, but not with me?!?” my fifty-six uncle exclaimed one night. I suspect I routinely disappoint him with my lack of “debauchery”.

The answer lies in sharing a new experience. Sam was finally old enough to join the older relatives! It was a new experience for her and I certainly didn’t want to miss that! I was a tag-along, a libation lamprey.

Another vicariously new experience for me at Bethany Beach– Rollerblading!

In my quest to rollerblade in all the U.S. States, Delaware was achieved long ago. It was my second state behind Virginia. But this year, I got to skate Delaware as if it were my first time. I got the share it with multiple relatives!

My sister:

Bethany Beach 2009 - Carolyn Ready to Rollerblade
Carolyn

My cousin Sam:

Bethany Beach 2009 - Sam Ready to Rollerblade
Samantha

Now, I have actually skated with both Carolyn and Sam before. But check out our party’s fourth—

Bethany Beach 2009 - Maria on Blades
Maria

AUNT MARIA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We didn’t go far. We didn’t go fast. But by doing it together, it was a memorable adventure!

Bethany Beach 2009 - Melanie, Vicky, Sam, Maria, Carolyn (Close)
Cousin Melanie, Me, Cousin Sam, Aunt Maria, Carolyn

Next time I am inclined to go to a bar, I just may have to do a toast.

“Hooray for Vicariously New Experiences!”

Entry filed under: Bethany Beach, Rollerblading, Travel. Tags: .

Blackberries without Hands Wildflowers at Keffer Oak

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  September 1, 2009 at 10:34 am

    We didn’t go far because it started raining on us.

    Reply
  • 2. geekhiker  |  September 1, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    Why not rollerblade to the bar? Although, you might want to take a taxi back… ;)

    Reply
  • 3. Jane  |  April 9, 2013 at 5:08 pm

    Hi there!
    My name is Jane and I’m with Dwellable.
    I was looking for blogs about Bethany Beach to share on our site and I came across your post…If you’re open to it, shoot me an email at jane(at)dwellable(dot)com.
    Hope to hear from you soon!
    Jane

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Wine Stopper - Yellow Plastic

Day of Making - Bus

School Bus Wine Stopper with Wine

School Bus Wine Stopper - Back, Stop Sign Side and Engraving

School Bus Wine Stopper with Green Background

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

