Groundhogs in Trees

February 10, 2009 at 8:00 am 11 comments

This past week has been very educational to me on the groundhog front. First off, Punxsutawney Phil taught me the error of anthropogenic climate change. Next, I learned that groundhogs are actually squirrels (Ah, so that’s why Squirrel Appreciation Day and Groundhog Day are so close together). Finally, and most surprisingly, I learned that groundhogs can climb trees. It wasn’t just a claim that groundhogs climb trees. There was also a supporting picture and, sure enough, it was a groundhog…in a tree.

But I wanted to see more. So I ran over to Flickr and typed in a search. Just like Cats in Suitcases, there are numerous shots of groundhogs in trees. Here are some courtesy of Creative Commons:


(Photo by ~Sage~)


(Photo by eggman)


(Photo by human39)


(Photo by jereandreagan)


(Photo by rblood)


(Photo by atalou)


Do you thirst for more shots of groundhogs in trees or perhaps have a sighting of your own? Welp, I just so happened to have created a new Flickr group.

Groundhogs in Trees. :)

Entry filed under: Groundhog, trees. Tags: .

Guns for Reproduction Need “Season Compares”?

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ronbailey  |  February 10, 2009 at 8:24 am

    No arboreal woodchucks for me yet, but I do know a cinder-block climber: http://www.jpgmag.com/photos/605748

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  February 11, 2009 at 8:27 am

    @ronbailey – Hahaha, awesome!

    Reply
  • 3. scienceguy288  |  February 11, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    Very interesting facts. Huzzah! I learned something today!

    Reply
  • 4. The Romantic Parasite « TGAW  |  February 15, 2009 at 12:01 am

    [...] 14, 2009 Earlier this week I learned that groundhogs could climb trees. I also learned that mistletoe (which is prevalent in Elizabeth City) is stealing from its host [...]

    Reply
  • 5. Aaron  |  February 18, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    Maybe if they spent more time in trees, they’d spend less time dead on the side of the road.

    Reply
  • 6. Sean  |  May 12, 2009 at 6:20 am

    I live in Fredericksburg Virginia…. and for the first time yesterday I saw a groundhog on our farm in a tree…. i never thought I would ever see a grounhog in a tree!!!!!

    Reply
  • 7. *More* Groundhogs in Trees « TGAW  |  February 2, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    [...] 2, 2010 Last February, I did a post sharing photos of groundhogs….in trees.  At the time, the concept was very surprising to me.  However, scattered across Flickr are [...]

    Reply
  • 8. Vicky  |  July 20, 2010 at 7:11 am

    I never knew groundhogs climbed trees until I saw one in my dwarf peach tree eating my peaches!!

    Reply
    • 9. Carolyn  |  July 20, 2010 at 11:32 am

      I hit a poor groundhog on the way back from X-Day. There was an RV to the right of me, and so I couldn’t avoid the groundhog.. Poor thing. But he was crossing a major highway where the cars were going 70 miles an hour. If I didn’t hit him, someone else would have. Probably that RV.

      But it was sad that I totally saw it coming and just couldn’t do anything about it.

      Reply
  • 10. David Padilla  |  October 4, 2012 at 7:28 am

    All you people must be sniffing bath salts or something! That’s like saying pigs can fly! lol

    Reply
  • 11. Susan Lapp  |  May 10, 2013 at 7:01 am

    My first thought upon seeing him sitting in my tree eating its leaves was, ‘I need to call the zoo and let them know one of their koala bears escaped.’ Learn something new every day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Breastfeeding Pendant in Action

Breastfeeding Pendant in Action - Cropped

Breastfeeding Pendant - Purple - Cropped

Breastfeeding Pendant - Steel - Cropped

Breastfeeding Charm - Unlayered - Cropped

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

