How to Jump Off a Ship

January 10, 2009 at 6:34 pm 5 comments

While I was away, whenever someone asked about the Virgin Islands, I would send them a small collection of scaled down pictures. One of those pictures was me jumping off the boat at Virgin Guana.


Me jumping off the ship at Virgin Guana

Everyone seemed impressed. That’s because they only got to see one picture and they had nothing else to compare it to.

I have many talents, but it turns out jumping off boats is something I still need to fine tune. I could be a bit more graceful and I definitely need to work on my landing skills. The ending of my photographed jump was a butt flop. Although it did not hurt, I was told the back of my thighs were “red for the rest of the day!”

If you do wish to jump off a 120-foot yacht and want to have some style, I do have a role model for you! My soon-to-be cousin, Kaylee. She has accuracy and gracefulness Olympic athletes would covet. To help compare and contrast, here is a side by side comparison of me and Kaylee jumping off the boat. All of these pictures are scaled down. Please feel free to click on each shot to get larger versions from Flickr.

Step 1 – The Launch

Kaylee, on the left, looks like a graceful gazelle. I look like a chicken that got pushed out of the coup.

Step 2 – Positioning

Kaylee continues to use her athletic ability to further position herself. I, realizing I’m airborne, regress to “catatonic pin-mode” as fast as I can.

Step 3- Final Approach

As she nears the water, Kaylee straightens her body, pulls in her arms and prepares for entry. Wanting to make a good impression, I go to the trouble of pointing my toes. That’s a little futile when your whole body is bending into a poorly timed pike.

Step 4 – The Entry

Kaylee does make a splash, but check out what I can accomplish with my butt and legs!

If you want to evaluate the techniques of other family members, I do have more pictures of jumping off the ship available on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Kaylee, Travel, Virgin Islands. Tags: .

Backup your Bumper Stickers! Weekly Winners – January 4 – January 10, 2009

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sour Swinger  |  January 10, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    Awesome! How high up was that? If I recall, Kaylee used to take Gymnastics. That and she’s done a ton of cliff jumping too.

    Reply
  • 2. TGAW  |  January 10, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    Boy, I really don’t know. I can tell you Length and Beam courtesy of the website, but I don’t know how high that top deck was.

    I believe you are right. I think I overheard Kaylee took eight years of gymnastics!

    Reply
  • 3. Gabriel  |  January 11, 2009 at 2:09 am

    Easily, one of the funniest posts I’ve seen in a while. Don’t we all feel like this when we meet that person in our family who makes everybody feel awkward? :-)

    Have a great week!

    Reply
  • 4. Virgin Islands: Virgin Guana « TGAW  |  January 14, 2009 at 8:01 am

    […] got their start. First off– anchored offshore in crisp blue waters, that is when we started jumping off the boat. Some of us were more a little more adventurous than […]

    Reply
  • 5. tgaw  |  January 16, 2009 at 11:36 am

    @Gabriel – Glad to entertain! Thanks for posting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Ornament on Smithsonian 3D Site

Ornament on White House Web Site

library_of_congress_library

Ornament on Smithsonian 3D Site

Ornament on White House Web Site

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

