Backup your Bumper Stickers!

January 9, 2009 at 10:17 am 7 comments

Last night the neighborhood kids came by to welcome me back from my trip. I love them so it was a very nice evening treat. I gave them some souvenirs I got them from the Virgin Islands, we talked about what they got for Christmas and the field trip one of them took to DC (I almost told her my Lincoln Memorial Booger story. Almost). Then the conversation came to my car’s bullet hole. They hadn’t seen it before. I grabbed my shoes and we walked out back to look at the damage.

They were quite amazed, loudly amazed, at how big the shot gun slug hole was. After their initial response died down, one of the older, more practical children pointed out, “You’re going to have to get a new door.”

“Oh don’t worry,” I told him, “I have insurance and they’re going to take care of it.”

“Yeah, but you are going to have to get new stickers,” and he nodded towards my car.

My stickers? My stickers! My Appalachian Trail stickers!


Two AT Stickers and a Bullet Hole

He was absolutely right! If I got a new door, my Appalachian Trail stickers would be gone! I’m already separated from the mountains and now I must part ways with reminders of the mountains?

The children sensed my concern and started brainstorming. Mostly they focused on peeling the stickers off the back.

Suddenly the youngest of the group, spoke up (slightly paraphrased).

You should’ve made copies, so when your car got all shot up, you’d have them.”

So there you go. A disaster recovery program we should all abide by. When we buy bumper stickers, make prompt copies.

For when our cars get shot. :)

Entry filed under: Appalachian Trail, Elizabeth City, Hiking, Neighborhood Kids. Tags: .

The Many [Goofy] Faces of the Virgin Islands How to Jump Off a Ship

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  January 9, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    You might be able to pull them off in one piece and use spray adhesive. but yea. prob wont work.

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  January 9, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    I think I will just buy new ones. :)

    Reply
  • 3. Phil  |  January 9, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    For irreplaceable stickers you could try what I did with my Adventure Pass when it fell off my Jeep bumper:

    http://wildrye.com/?p=57

    The trick is to use National Geographic Adventure Paper for waterproof maps

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  January 9, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    @Phil – Wow, thanks!

    Reply
  • 5. scienceguy288  |  January 10, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    Only the mind of a child could come up with something so insightful!

    Reply
  • 6. champ  |  February 18, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    Put another sticker over the slug hole and spend the insurance $ on a kids party

    Reply
  • 7. tgaw  |  February 18, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    @champ – Oooh, now THAT is an idea I think the kids would appreciate!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Breastfeeding Pendant in Action

Breastfeeding Pendant in Action - Cropped

Breastfeeding Pendant - Purple - Cropped

Breastfeeding Pendant - Steel - Cropped

Breastfeeding Charm - Unlayered - Cropped

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

