Reaching Wallpaper

July 26, 2008 at 11:57 pm 5 comments

Today was another busy day of working on the house. Most of the day involved packing, painting prep and actual painting, but I did tackle another type of task. In my upstairs hallway, I had some wallpaper that was falling down.


That wallpaper that needs fixing is like…high up!

But it was over my stairwell. Since I don’t have a stairwell friendly ladder and my arms have a limit to their scope, I wasn’t sure how to reach that wallpaper to apply more adhesive. So I pondered….


How do I reach that wallpaper behind me?

And I devised a plan. I took the extended handles for my paint roller, some packing tape and an old sponge brush to fashion myself a custom wallpaper glue distribution device.


My concoction and Jimmie (Tried and true still)

It worked out great. I put the glue on my little sponge and used that to spread adhesive on the wall and the back of the wallpaper. I ended up putting the roller back on the other end and that worked wonderfully to smooth the paper back on the wall. And with that, I was able to cross another item off my list.


Yay!

Now as far as innovation goes, I think “taping a brush to a paint roller” is far beneath thru-hiker territory. But you know what IS innovative?

Me still finding stuff to post about when all I’m doing is painting, cleaning and packing. :)

Entry filed under: home improvement. Tags: .

Bye Bye Sectional Egg Drop Contest Entry

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geekhiker  |  July 27, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    Hee hee hee – love the self portraits! So when will you be journeying out to LA to pursue your acting dreams? ;)

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  July 28, 2008 at 10:25 am

    @geekhiker– Good eye at spotting those as self portraits. My mother asked me who took the pictures. :)

    Reply
  • 3. Aaron  |  July 28, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Jimmie can’t join that high? ;)

    Reply
  • 4. Vicky  |  July 28, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    Oh Aaron, you reminded me. My mother said I should train Jimmie to take pictures. I think I’m managing just fine on my own for now.

    I did try to set Jimmie up with an outdoor video camera once to take a hiking video from a dog’s perspective (Dog Hiking Video – Take I). I ran out of batteries though and all his footage didn’t get saved.

    Reply
  • 5. Heyo  |  November 13, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Wow, you Americans are so very genius.
    *gag*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

View While Nursing for October 26, 2014 - My Mom!  She formula fed her three children, but still ended up being a GREAT support to me on my breastfeeding journeys.  Thanks Mom!  Http://viewswhilenursing.tumblr.com

Some renders (not actual 3D prints...yet) of my "Dial-O-Lantern."  This is my first 3D model designed with moving parts!  Each section of the pumpkin rotates so you can pick from three types of eyes, noses, and mouths (27 possible faces).  https://sketchf

What I wish I was working on.  (An entry for the CGCookie/SketchFab/Shapeways 3D Printed Jack-O-Lantern Contest)

Socks with Sandals- What you wear when your 1 year old brother poops *ON* your sneakers.

Rarity is ready for Saturday's Wicked 10K.  This is the first year I've managed to have a "real" costume for the race!

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

