Bye Bye Sectional

July 24, 2008 at 4:47 pm 5 comments

Today I said goodbye to the sectional sofa. I sold it a young woman and this morning her parents drove from Rocky Mount, Virginia to get it. They backed their pickup truck into my driveway, we opened the garage door and almost simultaneously the three of us realized just how small the bed of the pickup truck was.

We stared at the couch.

“I didn’t expect it to be so big,” the father said.

We all three continued to stare at the couch.

“I might have to make two trips,” the father said.

Crap, I thought. The couple lived an hour and a half away. Six hours for *my* couch?!? I was going to lose this sale.

But then man started to pace around the garage, cock his head and size everything up. Suddenly I noticed his hat. It read Mt. Katahdin.

“Are you an AT hiker?!?” I asked.

“Yup,” he replied as he directed his attention to the pickup truck, “I thru hiked in ’99. Hardest thing I’ve ever done.”

And it was at that moment I had no doubt. This man was going to get that entire couch in one trip. Maybe thru-hikers have an odor about them, but they are also innovative. They know how to tackle challenges. They know how to exceed perceived limits. And they excel at getting things done with the resources they have on hand.

True to form– this thru-hiker got the entire couch in the back of his truck:


Nine years after his thru-hike, “Pilgrim” still finds ways to be innovative


The sectional is ready for the ride home

I suppose it was nothing compared to 2175 miles.  :)

Entry filed under: Appalachian Trail, Moving. Tags: .

Christmas Card Patterns Reaching Wallpaper

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Thruhike98  |  July 24, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    Thruhikers rock the party. ;)
    Just attended my ten-year reunion! :)
    Glad you got the sectional outta there.

    Reply
  • 2. Aaron  |  July 25, 2008 at 9:53 am

    Of course he got it. Thru-Hikers know no limits.

    Reply
  • 3. geekhiker  |  July 25, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    Heh, I would argue that it could be anyone who’s packed and re-packed a backpack 37,000 times to try and get everything in! LOL

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  July 27, 2008 at 12:02 am

    @Thruhike98- Yeah I saw those pictures on my Flickr feed! Neat!

    @Aaron – Hehheh.

    @GeekHiker – Oooh good point! I didn’t even think about the “fitting things in” angle.

    Reply
  • 5. Appalachian Trail Stomp « TGAW  |  May 11, 2009 at 6:04 am

    [...] of his journey, including this one which uncovers hikers making music on the trail. Keeping up with thru-hiker innovation, they use what was on-hand as their instruments– their gear, their hands and even the trail [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Autotomy - Sagan with Laptop

Autotomy - Me Spass Me Want to Delete Production Data

Autotomy - Sagan Threatens to Hurt Laptop

Autotomy - Autotomy in Action

Autotomy - Predator Distracted By Discarded Appendage

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

