The Great Craft Explosion

July 14, 2008 at 11:04 pm 18 comments

In continued preparation for putting my house on the market and moving, today I went through all my craft supplies. I organized them all on the deck of the house…which is very good because it turns out I needed a lot of real estate. After pitching the garbage, consolidating my supplies, and preparing donations to both the Friends of the Pine Ridge Reservation Sewing Groups and Arts and Scraps, I am left with an inventory that is much more manageable.

Below are some pictures of the process. Just like with measuring trees, Jimmie comes in handy to give perspective.


Here is what I started with. A myriad of storage methods– including trash bags


As I unpacked and organized, the supplies started to expand across the deck. They took up a LOT of surface area!


I was busy toiling over my task. Meanwhile, Henry and Jimmie found a comfortable spot to lay.


And the grand finale– what’s left after my donations and reorganization!

Next up…. my “Special Box” (which actually constitutes more than one box and even more random stacks of papers)

Entry filed under: Henry, Jimmie, Moving. Tags: .

Aww for the Day – July 13, 2008 Christmas Card Patterns

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geekhiker  |  July 14, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    Whoa. Will you please, please, please come over and organize my camp gear?

    Reply
  • 2. Passionphish  |  July 15, 2008 at 6:26 am

    Yeah Geekhiker! After seeing that craft explosion I don’t feel so bad about my camping gear! I have three peoples worth of gear, a couple of extra packs and I fit it all into two large boxes… Granted my wife and I both had to stand on the lids to get them to close…

    Hobbies=addictions

    -Passionphish

    Reply
  • 3. TGAW  |  July 15, 2008 at 7:19 am

    Oh wow. I didn’t even think about my gear. Yup, I’m going to have to work on organizing and packing that too!

    Reply
  • 4. Carolyn  |  July 15, 2008 at 7:51 am

    What is that bird hanging out with Jimmie & Henry?

    Reply
  • 5. Carolyn  |  July 15, 2008 at 7:54 am

    Heheh, it took you all day.. :)

    Reply
  • 6. TGAW  |  July 15, 2008 at 7:57 am

    @Carolyn – Heh heh heh. I forgot to point that out. Yes, it was dark out when I finished. The hiking headlight once again came in handy! But it didn’t take all day. I started circa 6 PM.

    Reply
  • 7. TGAW  |  July 15, 2008 at 8:03 am

    @Carolyn – That bird is a cool outdoor candle holder Sean’s mom got me. Unfortunately, a bunch of yellow jackets think it is really cool too. There is a huge nest inside.

    Reply
  • 8. Scott  |  July 15, 2008 at 9:38 am

    I thought you were fixing up the house to stay. Where are you moving to?

    Reply
  • 9. TGAW  |  July 15, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    I’ll be moving to my parents (Occoquan, VA) for the month of August. Though I’m not sure if I can officially say I’m living there as my August travel schedule promises to be very hectic. Right now it looks like I’ll be on the road 3 out 4 weeks (Beach the first week, Wisconsin the 2nd or 3rd week and then Amsterdam the last week). If I’m at my parents, I have in-house dog sitters which is extremely handy. Plus they aren’t going to charge me rent. :)

    Reply
  • 10. TGAW  |  July 15, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Actually, I need to revise that above statement. I don’t think I would be going to my parents house until after the first week in August as I already have my dogs boarded down here for the beach.

    Reply
  • 11. Anne  |  July 17, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    @ Carolyn – Jay and I sat on the deck Tuesday night and watched the yellow jackets come home. We ignored them and they ignored us. We were scared, though. Jay also found a bees nest on the roof.

    Reply
  • 12. Carolyn  |  July 17, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    Uh oh. We got some hornets that appear downstairs every year around this time. They’ll fly around in the kitchen, and then a day or so later, we will find the corpse. We figure they starve, but we aren’t sure why they die. Usually when we see one downstairs, we’ll hightail it out of there until it’s safe to go back down there. They’re huge. Like an inch and a half. Crazy.

    Today, there was one when I was cooking, and I decided to just ignore it (because I was starving so I wanted to get my food done). There were some scary moments. At one point, I was digging around in the drawer trying to find my measuring cup. I knew I wasn’t keeping an eye on the hornet while I was preoccupied, so the second I found the cup, I ducked and ran. It was just in time because when I turned around, the bee was hovering around right where my head had been. [shudder].

    Clint was complaining that it went into the main rec room later. Then about 10 minutes after that, we found the corpse on a table near the window. We think Oranjello took care of it for us. I was slightly concerned that Oranjello might have been stung, but he seems fine. He’s as energetic as ever and he doesn’t seem to be in pain.

    Reply
  • 13. tgaw  |  July 18, 2008 at 11:58 am

    How is it that everyone in my family is afraid of stinging insects besides me? I’ve been working on the deck for days and the yellow jackets haven’t taken an issue with me yet — even when I was knocking their home around with a broom. I also finished sweeping off the leaves from the screened in porch roof without a single bee sting.

    Eh. Maybe it is because I haven’t been stung that much?!? I think the last time I was stung was in 2004 when Meredith Webber and I were at Dismal Falls.

    Interestingly enough, Mike E. also got stung by a bee in 2005… near Dismal Falls as well. I guess the stinging insects in Bland County are a little more aggressive.

    Reply
  • 14. Carolyn  |  July 18, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    I haven’t been stung all that much. There was a time when I thought I was either stung by a hornet corpse, or hurt by a laundry basket that was next to it. What happened was there was a laundry basket in the kitchen. I was in bare feet and kicked it, and it REALLY HURT. Way more than I would have expected a laundry basket to hurt. Then I saw a hornet corpse in that spot where I had kicked, so I thought I was stung by the hornet corpse. However, 5 minutes later, my toe was fine. So I am not sure if I was hurt by the corpse (and maybe it didn’t last long because there was no active venom?) or if I just had a normal toe-stubbing on the laundry basket. I guess I’ll never know. :)

    But yeah, before that, the last time I was actually stung was when I was a kid. But I remember bee stings really suck.

    Reply
  • 15. Clint  |  July 18, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    I haven’t been shot much either, but I’d still avoid a shooter.

    Reply
  • 16. Anne  |  July 18, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    I asked Vicky if a citronella candle might drive the yellow jackets off the porch, but she said the bird has a citronella candle in it.

    Reply
  • 17. tgaw  |  July 18, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    @Clint – Ahahaha. Good analogy!

    Reply
  • 18. Egg Drop Contest Entry « TGAW  |  July 28, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    [...] 28, 2008 In the comment feed of my The Great Craft Explosion post, we had some discussion about a metal chickadee that was on my deck. It’s a really cool [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Plotting a 3D printing project if/when the kids go to bed.

From Notes to 3D Model

View While Nursing for October 18, 2014 - Kite Flying!  (This is what happens when the baby gets hit in the face with a kite)

Strongbad Pumpkin - Sagan Stabs Lit Pumpkin

Strongbad Pumpkin - Sagan Smiles with Final Result

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

