Meet White-Breasted Nuthatch

April 26, 2008 at 1:04 am 10 comments

The No-Child Left Inside Coalition has a video on their homepage which says “A study found that young people could identify 1000 corporate logos but fewer than 10 plants or animals native to their backyards.”

I promptly tested myself and, phew, I can identify more than 10 things in my yard. Heck, if you count my arbor day purchases, I have 10 in trees alone.

And now, thanks to optical zoom and WhatBird.com, I have even more bragging rights over the young people in the study. I can add a new bird to my total!

Since the weather has been nice this week, I’ve been working in the screened-in porch in the afternoons. Thursday, I saw this little bird hopping up and and down and pecking away at trees. I thought he was some kind of wood pecker. Made sense. He was, afterall, pecking wood. But it turns out my new friend is a White-Breasted Nuthatch.


White-Breasted Nuthatch in backyard

It appears that sometimes you don’t even have to hike to learn something new about nature. Sometimes you just have to sit outside [while you play with CSS and drop shadows]. :)

Entry filed under: birds, Blacksburg, Virginia, White-Breasted Nuthatch. Tags: .

Thanks a Lot, Google. McAfee’s Knob!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sour Swinger  |  April 26, 2008 at 10:16 am

    You said breast

    Reply
  • 2. Sour Swinger  |  April 26, 2008 at 10:17 am

    [insert bevis and butthead laugh]

    Reply
  • 3. ronbailey  |  April 26, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    I loooove working outside this time of year – I almost feel guilty billing my clients for the time!

    Reply
  • 4. Clint  |  April 26, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    how is cannabis supply related to this again? hehehhe

    Reply
  • 5. TGAW  |  April 26, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    Not sure, I’ve been trying to figure out if I want to turn off that new Possibly Related Post section. Thoughts?

    Reply
  • 6. Clint  |  April 26, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    If it worked, it would be more compelling. :)

    Reply
  • 7. geekhiker  |  April 28, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    Wow, that statistic… is just… sad.

    I’m with Clint… and I’m in the same debate myself…

    Reply
  • 8. Carolyn  |  May 2, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    In regards to related posts, someone got to my blog by a related post. It was a “happy birthday to some actress” post, and the last related post was my “Day Of Mourning” post about Beavis.

    Reply
  • 9. tgaw  |  May 2, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    Weird. On a couple of my posts, I see a related post that I actually wrote on the same subject… so it is actually related.

    Reply
  • 10. Clint  |  May 2, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Yea — the tags and such that I use end up making the first 2 out of 3 related posts mine a good deal of the time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Occoquan Bay Wildlife Refuge - Lookout

Dyson is thankful he woke up before Sagan.  He can play with any toy he wants without it getting snatched away.  :)

Jefferson Reading Room and Silver Ornament

View While Nursing for November 9, 2014 - Watching All My #Ingress Portals Getting Captured.

Cthulhu Pumpkin - Original Concepts and Actual Product

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

