Cherry Blossoms vs. Rhododendrons

April 6, 2008 at 3:11 pm 11 comments

This weekend, I went up to Washington, DC to check out the National Cherry Blossom Festival. As you can expect, the cherry trees were gorgeous. It’s a close call, but if I had to chose a favorite explosion of pink and white blooms– I would go with rhododendrons (particularly the concentrated ones found at Mount Rogers National Recreation Area). It’s the rocky mountainsides covered in pink and green that tip the scale for me. Plus, there are less crowds. :)

But you are welcome to form your own opinion. And to assist you on that quest, here are some side by shots.

Cherry Blossoms Rhododendrons

Need additional data to consider? There are more pictures of the DC Cherry Blossom Festival AND the blooms of Rhododendron Gap on my Flickr account.

Entry filed under: Appalachian Trail, Cherry Blossom Festival, Hiking, Mount Rogers, Rhododendron. Tags: .

links for 2008-04-04 ABCs of Orchids

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geekhiker  |  April 6, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    I’ll have to agree with you on that one. Always wanted to go to DC in the spring. Guess I’ll have to add it to the old life list. With an asterisk next to it to remind me to bring my allergy medicine!

    Reply
  • 2. Clint  |  April 7, 2008 at 8:36 am

    Cherry Blossoms are overrated.

    Reply
  • 3. ABCs of Orchids « TGAW  |  April 7, 2008 at 9:32 am

    [...] 7, 2008 On Saturday, while looking at cherry blossoms, I did sneak in for a stroll through the United States Botanical Gardens.  Currently they have [...]

    Reply
  • 4. Vicky  |  April 7, 2008 at 9:35 am

    @Clint – More or less than “Cookies and Cream Ice Cream”?

    Reply
  • 5. Clint  |  April 7, 2008 at 11:10 am

    Hard to say. Maybe the ice cream because more people eat ice cream than look at flowers.

    Reply
  • 6. A-Rod  |  April 7, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    ALL the trees in my yard, save one, are cherry trees. I should have taken pics this year, but didn’t ‘cuz I’m lazy. They were beautiful, as per the usual.

    Reply
  • 7. John Perkins  |  April 7, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Here is our Blue Ridge Travels to Mt Rogers.

    http://arsmc.org/documents/BlueRidge.xml?p53pc1cs640s

    Click next for the next image
    Click index for a lis tof images.

    Reply
  • 8. tgaw  |  April 7, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    @John Perkins – Wow thanks for posting. Looking at your site exposed me to the American Rhododendron Society. I didn’t know it existed. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 9. tgaw  |  April 7, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    And now, I’m a member of the Middle Atlantic Chapter of the American Rhododendron Society. Woo Hoo!

    Reply
  • 10. Nick  |  April 15, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Vicky,

    this just looks awesome !! I’ve never been to Mount Rogers when the rhododendrons bloom. I’m organizing a hike this year in mid June in the Roanoke Outdoor Club. I took one of your pictures to illustrate the hike description. I hope it’s ok. If not, let me know and I’ll remove it.

    Thanks for the great idea !

    Nick,

    Reply
  • 11. John Perkins  |  April 15, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    Welcome

    The American Rhododendron Society is an excellent organization.

    Be sure to checkout all the Chapter web sites.

    http://arsmc.org/links.aspx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Banshee Reek Nature Preserve - Changing Virginia Creeper (Blurry)

Banshee Reek Nature Preserve - Changing Leaves and Thorns on Raspberry Trail

Banshee Reek Nature Preserve - Sagan's Different Tree

Banshee Reek Nature Preserve - Ryan and Sagan with Mountains on Raspberry Trail

Banshee Reek Nature Preserve - Turkey Vulture From Raspberry Trail

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

