Sell Out for Sweet Potatoes

November 13, 2007 at 10:42 pm 8 comments

Greetings from Ottawa, Illinois.  I’ll be here until Friday morning on business.  The coming weeks promise to be incredibly busy.  Next week is Thanksgiving week where I’m due to go back up to northern Virginia to be with family.  The week after that I’ll be in Wisconsin on business.  The week after that isn’t in stone yet, but it looks like I’ll be in Indiana for business.


That’s a lot of travel

When I was driving the four and a half hour trip to Stacy and Louise’s wedding I thought, “You know what?  Maybe this is the year where I just stay in Blacksburg for Thanksgiving.”  Who could argue with me wanting to stay put for a week? Plus I have gotten to see a lot of my parents this fall with the groomsman dress purchase, the dress fitting and the dress wearing.

I started to pitch the idea to my mother and then I found out we are going to Aunt Maria and Uncle Timmy’s house this year AND Aunt Maria’s sister is coming and bringing her fabulous sweet potatoes with that decadent brown sugar pecan crust.

Suddenly, I was definitely coming home again for Thanksgiving.

I sold out my sanity for sweet potatoes. 

It’s going to be worth it.

Entry filed under: Maria Sawyer, Thanksgiving, Timmy Sawyer. Tags: .

Girlie Stuff on my Groomsman Stint Geocaching: 15th State

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  November 13, 2007 at 11:15 pm

    ooooh, those sweet potatoes are the best sweet potatoes evah!!!!

    I was not aware they will be there, but I’m looking forward to them now!

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  November 14, 2007 at 7:37 am

    @CarolynCASL– Yup, those things ROCK!!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Scott  |  November 14, 2007 at 11:12 am

    Unrelated, but since you take so many pics of yourself I thought about you when I saw this. http://www.xshotpix.com/

    Reply
  • 4. HokieTT  |  November 14, 2007 at 1:55 pm

    It is possible to tone down the constant traveling some? It’s not exactly fun living by myself.

    Reply
  • 5. Angel  |  November 14, 2007 at 8:20 pm

    My brother has a recipe for a sweet potatoe casserole that sounds amazingly like that.

    And it is amazingly good.

    Reply
  • 6. tgaw  |  November 14, 2007 at 8:45 pm

    @Angel– Oooh, do you have access to said recipe? I sure would like to try it out one day.

    Reply
  • 7. tgaw  |  November 15, 2007 at 12:03 am

    @Scott– That’s a neat little contraption. I like how they published the weight too. Almost as if they knew hikers might be interested.

    Reply
  • 8. Anne Sawyer  |  November 15, 2007 at 11:41 am

    Regarding Scott, you definitely need one of those.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Labor Day 2014 - Dyson, Vicky, and Sagan Wash Feet

View While Nursing for August 31, 2014 - The View From the Tractor Ride at Reston Zoo.  Reston, Virginia  http://viewswhilenursing.tumblr.com

View While Nursing for August 31, 2014 - Great Falls Overlook #3.  Great Falls National Park, Virginia  http://viewswhilenursing.tumblr.com

Great Falls - Anne, Vicky, Sagan

Great Falls - Vicky Watches as Sagan Points at Falls

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

