Whatever It Takes!

October 31, 2007 at 11:16 pm 12 comments

When I was first asked to be a groomsman in Stacy’s wedding I marveled at how I would do “whatever it takes” to fulfill my duties.  Of course, I was thinking about the actual act of dressing and my scenarios involved changing in front of Kipp… or in a portapotty.  It may not be what I imagined, but last weekend I got to put my claim to the test.

While I was in Seattle, I received word that the dresses were in and that we needed to report to the dress shop for our fitting.  And while I was in Canada, I started to do the math and I realized with the two week lead time on alterations, I needed to go ASAP.  Unfortunately, I was working in Canada until Thursday and flying all day Friday.  And so, my “Whatever it Takes” turned out to be manifested by a travel frenzy!

Leg #1 Thursday: Katie and I worked all day at the copper mine and then drove 5 hours to Seattle, arriving at 11 PM PCT. 

Leg #2 Friday: Flew from Seattle to Chicago and then Chicago to Greensboro, North Carolina.  Arrived at Greensboro at 9 PM EST.

Leg #3 Friday/Saturday: Drove 5 hours from Greensboro, North Carolina to my parents’ home in Occoquan, Virginia.  Arrival Time: 3 AM EST! 


Phew!  From Logan Lake, BC to Seattle, WA to Chicago, IL to Greensboro, NC to Occoquan, VA

Over 3400 miles later, I made my weary way to the dress shop, where another challenge awaited me.  I was promptly asked to put on the shoes I would be wearing to the wedding.

“Huh?” I said and looked down at my work shoes that were still covered in white dust from the mine. 

I had no wedding shoes with me.  I didn’t think to pack any for Seattle.  Rollerblades, yes.  Wedding shoes, no.

Luckily, my bridesmaid, Jenn was there!  She just so happens to sport the same shoe size as I (bet that doesn’t happen often between a groomsman and a bridesmaid) and she just so happened to have some shoes I could borrow for the fitting.  

Jenn didn’t seem at all deterred that the moisture from my feet would now mingle with hers.  Perhaps for Jenn, “Whatever It Takes” describes her wedding attitude as well.  :)

Entry filed under: Travel, Wedding. Tags: .

Lovely Logan Lake! Mine Wear

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geekhiker  |  November 4, 2007 at 8:32 pm

    Silly question (as, try as I might, I just can’t relate to the importance of “wedding shoes”): how do you generate that cool map?

    Interestingly, if I ever get married, my (female) Best Friend would actually be my, um, “best woman” since she’s my closest pal. Glad to know there’s a precedent.

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  November 4, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    Hehe– here are my basic steps:

    1) Went to http://www.mapquest.com
    2) Pulled up a Map of Seattle, Washington
    3) Zoomed Out
    4) Selected “Aerial Image”
    5) Took a screenshot
    6) Scrolled east
    7) Took another screenshot
    8) Used Microsoft Paint to paste the screenshots together and mark up the map.
    9) Saved as bitmap
    10) Uploaded to Flickr.

    And speaking of Microsoft Paint– watch this “promotional” video on Paint. It cracks me up:

    “There are literally billions of colors in the visible human spectrum. We worked for about eight months in a facility in California to figure out what were the best twelve colors to include in Paint.”
    -Rubin Daphne-Vega, Digital Colorist

    Reply
  • 3. Clint  |  November 5, 2007 at 9:18 am

    i didn’t think flickr accepted bitmaps :)

    Reply
  • 4. Clint  |  November 5, 2007 at 9:19 am

    they used to tout “TrueColor” (16million colors) as being “the most the eye can see”. new HDR images with 32bit color have 4 billion possible colors, so I think the jig is up :)

    Reply
  • 5. tgaw  |  November 5, 2007 at 10:03 am

    Yup, Flickr does accept Bitmaps and it converts it to JPG for you. Case in point, my “Mine Wear” graphic was a Bitmap directly from Microsoft Paint. One of these days I’ll start using a real graphics program on my laptop. :)

    Reply
  • 6. Chriggy  |  November 5, 2007 at 4:08 pm

    @clint
    HDR does not have 32 bit color. Almost every image imaginable has 24 bit color(yes, 16 million colors). Actually, HDR can be much better that 32 bits, but you won’t actually find 32 bits. The minimum is usually 30 bits(10 bits per color) which is about one billion colors, while in most cases, when I’ve seen them refer to “32 bit color” in reference to HDR, it’s really 32 bits per color, so really 96-bit color(79,228,162,514,264,337,593,543,950,336 colors). Of course, that might just be slight overkill.

    Especially when we all know we just need 12.

    Reply
  • 7. Clint  |  November 5, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    We only need 12? that’s 4,096 colors!

    Reply
  • 8. Clint  |  November 5, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    (wonders if that was possibly a Crayola reference)

    Reply
  • 9. Chriggy  |  November 5, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    I meant 12 colors, not 12 bits. It was a reference to the MS pPaint video :) In particuler the quote tgaw put in her comment.

    Reply
  • 10. Clint  |  November 5, 2007 at 8:04 pm

    Thanks for the clarification :)

    This gives me a thought:

    MSPaint = modern day Crayola 12-pack (or 16/8/whatever)

    Reply
  • 11. tgaw  |  November 9, 2007 at 10:35 am

    @geekhiker – Back on the wedding shoes subject. Apparently they are important to wear at fittings because they want to get your hem line just right.

    Reply
  • 12. Wedding Forum  |  November 27, 2007 at 10:19 pm

    You must have your shoes for all fittings so the hem can be right.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Rarity is ready for Saturday's Wicked 10K.  This is the first year I've managed to have a "real" costume for the race!

Behind the Scenes of my Cthulhu Jack-O-Lantern.  The scribbling isn't frustration.  That's my 3yo's contribution :) http://shpws.me/woAv

Checking Normals and Zac Posen

Plotting a 3D printing project if/when the kids go to bed.

From Notes to 3D Model

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

