Catch Up – Weekend of Sept 22nd

September 30, 2007 at 10:54 pm 3 comments

Okay, I’ve been quite busy as of late.  Here are quick glimspes of what I’ve been up to:

Groomsman Dress
Two weekends ago, I went up to the Northern Virginia area to do an activity that used to fill me with dread– I went dress shopping.  And it turned out to be a fabulous time.  I got to meet Stacy’s fiance, Louise.  I got to meet Stacy’s daughter, Addie and I got to get to know one of the bridesmaids better.


One of the bridesmaids, Jenn, and little Addison

On top of that, the act on trying on those fancy dresses was quite fun.  I’m pleased with our selection.  I was also pleasantly surprised with the price!  The whole drive up, I mentally braced myself for something along the lines of $500.  The morning of the shopping outing, my father got me flustered.

“No!  That dress is going to be a thousand dollars!” he exclaimed.

I was a bit worried until I reported Dad’s statement to Mom.  She rolled her eyes and asked me a simple question:

“Oh come on, how many bridesmaid dresses has your father bought?!?” 

 
How much is this dress? $1000? $500?

Dad’s guess was a gross overestimate, as was mine.  We would both suck ass at The Price is Right. 

Thank goodness. :)

Occoquan
That same weekend, I got to visit my home town!  The reinnovations to the 123 Bridge are almost done and they include a pedestrian walkway with beautiful views of the river and the town!


Occoquan River


Town of Occoquan

I also got to visit the house I grew up in, my grandmother’s house, and a brick dedicated to my grandmother on the sidewalk in front of our town hall.


Grandma’s Brick

It was a brief, but very pleasant homecoming.  More photos of Occoquan are available on my Flickr site.

Surprising Art
Within eighteen hours I discovered that *two* individuals I know have some artistic talent.  First off, Ryan Somma can draw cartoons?!?  And then an absolutely mind-boggling discovery followed.  My brother, that pesky little boy who ruined my first kiss, can paint?!?!?!  I was helping my Mom move furniture to my brother’s room and found his rendition of a turkey buzzard (my 2nd favorite bird!) on display:


Turkey Buzzard by Jay

Who knew.

Serendipity and Spit-up
When I met little Addison, I got to hold her for a while.  Things were going smoothly for while, but then she made a face and I suspected that at any moment she would start to cry.  With an audience of people I just met for the very first time, I was self-conscious about triggering a sobbing spectacle.  So what do I do?  Run away!  I handed Addie back over to her father before she had a chance to cry.  Almost immediately after the hand-off, Addie spit up on Stacy.  With him, it got on his shirt.  BUT– the way I was holding her, it would have been a perfect shot on my still-growing Locks of Love hair.  Sometimes, it pays off to be a wuss!  ;)

Entry filed under: Addison, Jay, Occoquan, Wedding. Tags: .

links for 2007-09-25 Catch Up – Wisconsin

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  October 4, 2007 at 7:55 pm

    The dress looks great. Will there be photos of you wearing it?

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  October 4, 2007 at 8:28 pm

    Hehe. That depends on how the final product looks! I should be going up for a fitting sometime in the next couple of weeks and then the big day will be November 10th.

    Reply
  • 3. Sell Out for Sweet Potatoes « TGAW  |  November 13, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    [...] me wanting to stay put for a week? Plus I have gotten to see a lot of my parents this fall with the groomsman dress purchase, the dress fitting and the dress [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Dyson's Birthday - Playing with Dog Water

Dyson's First Birthday - Happy with new Airplane Toy

Dyson's First Birthday - Smiling with Airplane Gift

Dyson's First Birthday - Squinting at Camera with Chestnut Leaf in Background

Dyson's First Birthday - Sitting by the Chestnut

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets

  • This vacation is also a vacation from the breast pump...and bottles! We didn't pack a single one! #fb 2 days ago
  • Perk of all the Bay Bridge Traffic yesterday- Seeing the giant nest built over the highway on a traffic sign...with two ospeys in it!!! #fb 2 days ago
  • Test server updated, July hours are in, and my Out of Office responder is set. I think...I think I may actually be on vacation! :) #fb 4 days ago
  • I don't think I ever expected to see the word 'merkin' show up in my Facebook feed. :) jezebel.com/women-want-bus… 4 days ago
  • One of this season's Project Runway contestants dresses up as Nyan Cat costume at Cosplay conventions! mylifetime.com/shows/project-… 5 days ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

