Sawyer Dance Gene

September 21, 2007 at 8:43 am 5 comments

On Monday I had another Belly Dancing class.  Unfortunately, I was in Kansas for the last class, but how much could I miss, right?  Well, apparently a lot!  All my classmates showed up in ornate little hip scarfs with sequins and coins.  I showed up in a pair of blue shorts with paint splatters on them.  My classmates were readily prepared to join a series of moves and components together.  Meanwhile, I awkwardly tried to mimic their moves. 

I was definitely the weakest pupil in the class last week.  Nonetheless, I still had a splendid time and really enjoyed the experience.  But, I do have to say there were moments were some Sawyer dance stories crept into mind and I doubted my wine-induced class selection:

Inherited Rhythm?
My grandfather had a hilarious story from his youth.  When he was a boy, he wanted to play the drums.  He got a drum set for Christmas and he embarked on some drumming lessons.  After a while, the teacher told my grandfather that he had no rhythm and that he really couldn’t master the drums until he had that key skill.  The teacher suggested that Grandpa should take dance lessons to help his sense of timing.

And so Grandpa signed up for dance lessons which he continuously fumbled through.  Eventually that teacher said enough is enough.  Again my grandfather was told he had no rhythm.  The dance instructor had a helpful suggestion on how my grandfather could improve.

“Perhaps you should take drum lessons.” :)

Adam Sawyer Quote
I love weddings.  The highlights– cake and dancing.  My cousin Adam’s wedding in 2000 was one of the best weddings for the latter activity.  My relatives and I danced up a storm!  I must have been out there for hours.  It was so much fun!  At one point in the evening, I went to check in with the handsome groom.  We stood on a balcony and looked down over the rest of the reception.  At one point, Adam looked over at the dance floor and shook his head.

“You can always tell the Sawyers,” he said, “They are the ones who can’t dance, but always do!”  :)

So maybe I have genetics going against me in this belly dancing endeavor.  But my teacher is patient and I am enthusiastic.  At the very least, I will continue to have an hour of fun every Monday evening.  :)

Entry filed under: Adam Sawyer, belly dancing, Grandpa. Tags: .

Welcome Fall!!!!! How to Endear Yourself to Neighbors, Part III

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  September 21, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    I’m thankful that I have excellent rhythm, but regretful that I do not know how to dance in any way, shape, form, or technique.

    Other than moshing, anwyay.

    Reply
  • 2. HokieTT  |  September 21, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    I hate dancing. Except sometimes when I’m really drunk. Those times, I hate that I forget that I hate dancing.

    Reply
  • 3. tgaw  |  September 21, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    Oh I thought of a non-Sawyer-related dancing fiasco. Carolyn, Kipp or Stacy– do you remember our performance at that restaurant– I think it was called the Claredon Grille?

    Reply
  • 4. Carolyn  |  September 21, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    I remember that.

    Reply
  • 5. He Can Still Dance, Baby! « TGAW  |  January 10, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    [...] 10, 2008 As I’ve mentioned before, many members of my extended family LOVE to dance…even when our skill set struggles.  Now, there wasn’t an official dance floor at the reception on Saturday and no one else [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Jefferson Reading Room and Silver Ornament

View While Nursing for November 9, 2014 - Watching All My #Ingress Portals Getting Captured.

Cthulhu Pumpkin - Original Concepts and Actual Product

Cthulhu Pumpkin - Dyson Removes Lid

Cthulhu Pumpkin - Dyson Smiles With It

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

