Acupuncture and Manicures Do Not Mix

September 21, 2007 at 3:22 pm 5 comments

Last night I had an accident involving an old nail and my left index finger.  This is going to sound a lot scarier than it is– at the moment I have a puncture wound (small!) going through the middle of my fingernail and into the flesh below.  Again, it’s not that bad.  The way everything clotted, you can barely tell my fingernail has a hole in it.  In fact, today I had the finger in plain sight at lunch and everyone’s appetites stayed in tact.

I knew the finger itself was fine, but it’s been well over a decade since my last tetanus shot.  Looking at that old nail that inflicted the damage, it seemed like I would be tempting fate to not take care of my lapsed vaccination.  The doctor’s office was able to accomodate me.  They gave me the shot and they ran a series of tests to make sure I didn’t shatter bone and that I still had feeling in the finger.  Everything was fine.

“Wow,” the doctor said, “You are the worst patient for the best puncture wound ever.”

Umm… I’m not sure what that combination of superlatives means, but from the context of his other statements I think he was trying to compliment me. 

I think.

Entry filed under: home improvement. Tags: .

How to Endear Yourself to Neighbors, Part III links for 2007-09-25

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  September 21, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    Tetanus shots fill me with fussity.

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  September 23, 2007 at 11:53 pm

    The tetanus shot hurt longer than the finger!

    Reply
  • 3. geekhiker  |  October 2, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    Either way… *giggle*

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  December 2, 2007 at 1:23 am

    It took a little over two months, but the nail has finally grown out enough that all traces of the damage is now gone!

    Reply
  • 5. Tiling & Geocaching « TGAW  |  November 2, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    [...] Learn the advantage of not sticking carpet tacks through one’s fingernail [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Behind the Scenes of my Cthulhu Jack-O-Lantern.  The scribbling isn't frustration.  That's my 3yo's contribution :) http://shpws.me/woAv

Checking Normals and Zac Posen

Plotting a 3D printing project if/when the kids go to bed.

From Notes to 3D Model

View While Nursing for October 18, 2014 - Kite Flying!  (This is what happens when the baby gets hit in the face with a kite)

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

