Surprise Slumber Party

April 17, 2007 at 12:58 am 3 comments

Greetings from Dulles Airport.  As soon as I finish  my post I will be laying down on the floor of Gate A6 and catching a few hours sleep.  Mechanical problems caused our flight from Denver to be delayed for four hours so we missed our final leg to Roanoke.

I would like to think our three seats went to some family members or loved ones who were anxiously trying to get to Blacksburg.  Can you imagine flying standby in that situation?  It would be excruciating.  Thinking our seats went to a good use makes it very easy to sleep on an airport floor. 

Speaking of which, I best stake out my dark corner before it gets snatched away.

Good night

Entry filed under: Airport Delay, Travel. Tags: .

Thoughts From the Plane: Virginia Tech Shooting Thoughts From Friends

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacy McMahon  |  April 17, 2007 at 8:52 am

    You ended up sleeping in the airport? I am sorry, I should have come and got you guys. FWIW I was really sick last night so you’re probably glad you didn’t get exposed…

    We’re all watching the news over here. One of my coworkers graduated a couple years before we did, so it’s a big topic in the office. Ugh, what a beginning to the week.

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  April 17, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    It’s okay– our flight out was so early and it was already so late, it made sense to sleep at Dulles.

    Word of advice– if you do have to stay in Dulles go to Terminal C– their chairs do not have armrests so you can stretch out.

    We, unfortunately, went to Terminal A, where the offerings were not so good.

    Reply
  • 3. Virgin Islands: St. Thomas « TGAW  |  January 12, 2009 at 8:32 am

    [...] I upgraded to a futon mattress. I’ve slept on trains. I’ve slept on planes. I’ve slept on the floor of Dulles Airport. During my separation, I slept in a variety of places including a green chair, a tent and one night [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

View While Nursing for October 26, 2014 - My Mom!  She formula fed her three children, but still ended up being a GREAT support to me on my breastfeeding journeys.  Thanks Mom!  Http://viewswhilenursing.tumblr.com

Some renders (not actual 3D prints...yet) of my "Dial-O-Lantern."  This is my first 3D model designed with moving parts!  Each section of the pumpkin rotates so you can pick from three types of eyes, noses, and mouths (27 possible faces).  https://sketchf

What I wish I was working on.  (An entry for the CGCookie/SketchFab/Shapeways 3D Printed Jack-O-Lantern Contest)

Socks with Sandals- What you wear when your 1 year old brother poops *ON* your sneakers.

Rarity is ready for Saturday's Wicked 10K.  This is the first year I've managed to have a "real" costume for the race!

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

