Skiing Synopsis

April 1, 2007 at 10:11 pm 2 comments

Quick synopsis of the rest of our ski trip.

Tuesday
Kipp was sore, so we spent the day at Sylvan Lake State Park near Eagle.  We took a picture of a frozen lake.  We spent some time hunting for fossils in sandstone and we went for a very muddy hike on McKenzie Gulch Trail.  I may elaborate once Kipp uploads the rest of his pictures.  Afterwards, we ate at Moe’s Original Bar-B-Que in Eagle.  That stuff was delicious and we ran across a very pleasant surprise:


Fuck yeah!

I was in the middle of ordering my smoked turkey breast when Kipp yelled across the restaurant, “Vicky, they have sweet tea!!!”  I was quite pleased.

After that, we drove home and Kipp captured this little gem:


Perhaps I should have gotten that rental car insurance afterall.

Wednesday
Wednesday was the day I fell on my head.  Visibility was quite poor that day and I struggled overall.  Kipp got a couple of shots that showed what we were up against:


Stacy on the left and declining visibility on the right.


Stacy and Vicky on the lift and obscured trees in the background

Thursday
Thursday was freaking awesome!  There was all this fresh powder on the mountain.  At first I found it to be a struggle, but then I LOVED it.  I never fell, but I sure had many less-than-graceful close calls.  Stacy wasn’t as lucky. 

Journal except on how deep the powder was:


…The powder took Stacy offguard and he lost a ski.  The snow was so deep– that the missing ski was no longer visible!  It was buried under the inches of powder.  Luckily Stacy knew where it dislodged and retrieved it.

Kipp and I both come from organizations that focus on process improvement.  As such, our crew realized we might not be so lucky spotting a missing ski next time.

“We’ll have to watch each other,” Kipp said, “So if there is a wipeout, we can see where the skis fall off.”

It was a very good idea.  Then Kipp followed it up with a poor calculation.

“I’ll go last,” Kipp said, “Since I’m the least likely to fall.”

Journal excerpt showing how lucky I am to have forgiving friends:

[Stacy] fell three times in succession and the third time, despite my best efforts, I started laughing.

“I’m so sorry, Stacy!” I choked between chuckles, “I’m so sorry I’m laughing.  Are you mad?”

“I’m mad,” Stacy confessed as he clicked a boot back into its bindings, “but not at you.”

Phew!

Kipp had his own difficulties later that day.  He lost a ski and even though he was able successfully find it in the snow– he couldn’t get it on.  After a 30 minute ado (which did include some skis being hurled out of frustration), he was finally able to get it back on after the large cake of ice was removed from his boot.

Thursday also marks the very first time I took a support call on Vail Mountain.  I got called outside of Two Elks Lodge after lunch.  In case you are curious, it was a DSN issue.

Software Support at Two Elks Lodge

Finally Thursday night, I got to visit with my cousin Allison!  Her babysitter, Liz, drove her all the way down from Boulder to Vail to eat supper with me.  Later that evening we watched watched a movie.  It was very nice of them to come and see me while I was in town.

Friday
Friday the skiing was pretty nice, but the main goal of the day was to go snowshoeing!  We originally aimed to do that on Tuesday, but did not get back in time from Sylvan Lake.  Then we decided to do it Friday morning… but a surprise Gondola closing thwarted that.  The third time is a charm.  We were able to ski in the morning and successfully make the Friday afternoon hike!  

Friday brought all three of us two new experiences:

1) Hiking with snowshoes on our feet
2) Skiing with shoes tied around our necks. 

I love my Asolo hiking boots and the memories I have had with them makes them very sentimental objects.  HOWEVER, that added love did not make me enjoy the sensation of descending a slope with them flopping around my belly.  It was worth it though.  I loved snowshoeing!

I was worried Stacy and Kipp would not enjoy our snowshoe trip that much and that they were just humoring me.  That worry disappeared the second I saw our tour guide.  She was pretty.  She was blond.  She was charismatic.  I knew I was set.  :)


A stranger from the Bahamas, Stacy and Me on the snowshoe hike!


Kipp rests on the snowshoe hike

Memorable Songs
We had a few songs of note this trip:

1) Sandwiches

Sandwiches are beautiful.  Sandwiches are fine.
I like sandwiches.  I eat them all the time.
I eat them for my breakfast.  I eat them for my lunch.
If I had a 100 sandwiches, I’d eat them all at once!

Kipp taught us that chant in the mornings when we made our “saving money” sandwiches.

2) This is Why I’m Hot

I’m hot ’cause I’m fly.  You ain’t ’cause you’re not.

Stacy and Kipp were not familiar with this song.  Yet, they could still appreciate the deepness of Mims’ philosophic mind.  It was quoted a couple of times during the trip.

3) Born Free

Boooooorrrrn Freeeeeee.  Blah blah blah blah. Blah– Blah.  Blah.

There was a slope called “Born Free” which often prompted this song.  Unfortunately we only knew two words.  “Born” and “Free”.

“One day, we’ll have to look up the rest of the words,” Stacy said.

4) Snore Symphony

The first two nights, Mike and I shared a bed.  Kipp dubbed it the “Snore Bed”.  He said it was like a symphony.  First I would be going, then Mike would join in.  We’d harmonize together then I would fade out and Mike would have a solo. 

Luckily for Kipp and Stacy, I’m told there weren’t many encore performances.

Picture Frenzy!
Kipp’s Pictures on Flickr
Stacy’s Pictures on Flickr
My Pictures on Flickr (Mostly stolen from Kipp and Stacy!)

Related Blogs
Stacy’s Blog
Mike’s Blog

Entry filed under: Colorado, Kipp E, Mike Newman, Mims, skiing, Stacy McMahon, Sylvan Lake State Park, Travel, Vail. Tags: .

John’s Creek Mountain Trail – A Tale of Trees Time to Prep for Relay for Life

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. More Baby Blogging « You Got to Be Kidding Me!  |  April 5, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    [...] McMahon I’m finally getting caught up after my return from Vail (you can read about that trip here and see pictures here, here and [...]

    Reply
  • 2. Mims the Word « TGAW  |  April 25, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    [...] mentioned that on our Vail trip, Stacy and Kipp were introduced to the simple, but soul-searching, philophy of Mims [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Easter 2014 - Birch Bluff Trail - Ground Cover Catkins

Easter 2014 - Birch Bluff Trail - Butterfly to ID

Easter 2014 - Birch Bluff Trail - Red Leaves

Easter 2014 - Birch Bluff Trail - Three Possible Trout Lilies

Easter 2014 - Birch Bluff Trail - Possible Trout Lily and Log

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

