High School Photography Class

February 16, 2007 at 1:11 am 7 comments

Today I ran across my notebook from a black and white photography class I took in high school during the spring of 1993.  It’s a shame so many schools are cutting back on the arts.  I found these photographs to be much more interesting than the sterile similiarity provided by yearbook photos.  Some observations:

Things That I Love
I’m sure I was on some kind of assignment regarding light and composition or the like, but the subjects of the photos often reflected items I loved:

My Sister


My Brother (left)


My Cat


Pepsi!

I Had Laid Back Friends
I had some very agreeable friends back then.  For some of the pictures, I tried to imagine myself approaching my contemporary social circle with a similiar request.  I expect I would have very little luck.  For example, here is Chad Day at a playground near my house.

 
Chad (aka Bill) on the jungle gym

I can’t even convince Sean to smile for a picture on the U.S.S. Constitution…or at my company picnic.  Can you imagine his face if I approached him with, “Say I have an idea!  Climb up on that jungle gym and hang upside down.” 

A Secret Fetish?
I also learned a few little lessons about myself looking at these pictures.  I seemed to like people, particularly my sister, staring off in space.  I had a lot of close-ups.  And….apparently I really liked guys laying on the ground with theirs arms behind their heads.  I had THREE of those: 


Kevin Pick


Todd Eidam (aka Skylar Youngblood)


John Harding (aka Wishy)

All my pictures that I scanned from my high school photography class are available on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Carolyn L, Chad D, Jay, John Harding, Kevin Pick, Photography, Rabei, Todd Eidam. Tags: .

From Love to Hate on Valentine’s Day Spring Plans – Skiing

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  February 16, 2007 at 2:26 am

    Carolyn’s hot :)

    Reply
  • 2. Suresh Gundappa  |  February 16, 2007 at 4:58 am

    Good photos! Good shots! But some of the exposures are half stop high!

    Reply
  • 3. Christina  |  February 16, 2007 at 5:07 am

    That photo of Carolyn is really beautiful.

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  February 16, 2007 at 9:21 am

    @Clint and @Christina – Carolyn was my most prominent subject and I don’t think it was because she was convenient. I think I was fascinated by her vivid blue eyes and that dark wavy hair.

    @Suresh- Thanks for commenting! I think you may have stumbled on why I became a computer programmer and not a photographer! ;) I just took a glimspe at your photos and they are absolutely stunning. You are definitely in the right field for you!

    Reply
  • 5. Aaron Snyder  |  December 1, 2007 at 3:03 am

    I gotta hand it to you, for highschool B+W class these are great. I love how much you got out of that class: introspectiveness, improved percerption etc. You are right it’s a shame that so many schools are cutting back on the arts. My school has a forever locked darkroom, it’s been “out dated” by everyone’s point and shoots. I kid you not, the photography teacher’s are about to let students use camera phones. I’m not saying everyone needs to become a pro-photographer, but why not give them the chance? I dunno, I guess I really liked your post: thought provoking and interesting. A few of the shots really weren’t that bad. (your sister is hot.)
    Great post.
    -Aaron Snyder

    Reply
  • 6. Carolyn  |  December 1, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    Thanks Aaron!

    Reply
  • 7. Valmir Guido Eidam  |  April 7, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    ugh, for yuo,
    i,m from brasil

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Labor Day 2014 - Dyson, Vicky, and Sagan Wash Feet

View While Nursing for August 31, 2014 - The View From the Tractor Ride at Reston Zoo.  Reston, Virginia  http://viewswhilenursing.tumblr.com

View While Nursing for August 31, 2014 - Great Falls Overlook #3.  Great Falls National Park, Virginia  http://viewswhilenursing.tumblr.com

Great Falls - Anne, Vicky, Sagan

Great Falls - Vicky Watches as Sagan Points at Falls

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

